Author Topic: Changing the window title bar  (Read 16406 times)

VidarParry

  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Changing the window title bar
« on: 19 Aug 2014, 02:11:11 »
Hi all,
This may be a development request, but someone may have a simpler solution.

I run 4 instances of PDW on the one PC (one for each combination of 2 frequencies and 2 speeds).

All 4 windows display "PDW v3.12" in the title bar, making it hard to identify which window is monitoring which Frequency/baud combination.

Is there any way that the title of each window can be set to a customisable value set in a varialbe in, say, the PDW.ini file?

Thanks!

Cheers
...Steve

al

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #1 on: 01 Sep 2014, 04:42:34 »
Steve, you can do what you want quite simply using a free tool called resource hacker:  http://download.cnet.com/Resource-Hacker/3000-2352_4-10178587.html
Load up resource hacker, open the PDW.exe file you want to modify, then in the left hand pane of resource hacker scroll down to the string table entry.  You'll notice two subentries, 37 and 38.  Click on "37" and the "1033" entry underneath it.  In the right hand pane you'll see the string for the title bar enclosed in quotes.  Change it to whatever you want being sure not to disturb the quotation marks.  Then press the recompile button above the right hand pane, and then using the file subentry in the title bar of resource hacker save the modified PDW file as [whatever you want].exe.  When you execute your modified file, the title bar should show whatever you changed the string to.

VidarParry

  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #2 on: 01 Sep 2014, 07:38:10 »
Thanks Al. I'll have a play later this week.
Cheers
..Steve

VidarParry

  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #3 on: 07 Sep 2014, 09:59:34 »
Hi Al,

Works perfectly - thanks heaps!

Only modification to your instruction (in resource hacker 3.6.0.92) is to do File|Save as instead of File|Subentry (subentry wasn't in my file menu).

Cheers
...Steve

al

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #4 on: 07 Sep 2014, 11:45:32 »
Glad that it worked well for you, Steve.  Sorry that I wasn't very clear when I said file -> subentry.  I should have said 'select "save as" from the file dropdown menu in the resource hacker title bar.

TheManGoesWild

  • Guest
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #5 on: 19 Mar 2015, 16:02:29 »
Sorry to bring up an old thread, but can someone tell me what string needs to be changed to change the System Tray name? from "PDW v3.12" to something else.

Thanks.

VidarParry

  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #6 on: 19 Mar 2015, 20:16:22 »
Hi,
See Al's reply above, particularly "You'll notice two subentries, 37 and 38.  Click on "37" and the "1033" entry underneath it.  In the right hand pane you'll see the string for the title bar enclosed in quotes.  Change it to whatever you want being sure not to disturb the quotation marks. "

Or have I misunderstood your question?
Cheers
...Steve

TheManGoesWild

  • Guest
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #7 on: 19 Mar 2015, 20:57:52 »
I think you might of miss understood my question slightly, I have done what was mentioned above which renames the program, but I would like to re-name the actual name that is shown in the system tray/notification area, which appears to be the program version "PDW v3.12"

I have attached a couple of photos of what I mean, I run 3 PDWs and 2 run in the system tray and I would like to re-name them so I can tell which is which without having to open then all up to find the right one.

Cheers.

VidarParry

  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: Changing the window title bar
« Reply #8 on: 26 Apr 2015, 04:27:40 »
Hi all,
I've been meaning to come back to you with a followup on the original thread - changing the title in the Window Title Bar.

As I said earlier in the thread, using the resource hacker worked fine - I change one instance of my four PDWs to "PDW v3.12 - F2 1200".

This works until the first decode comes in. During the decode the title bar changes to (in this case) "PDW v3.12 - POCSAG-1200" and then reverts back to just "PDW v3.12" ie without the "F2-1200".

Can PDW be changed to revert back to the original full title bar text after it decodes a message?  Or is there another Hack I can use?  ;D

Thanks everyone!

Cheers
...Steve