Author Topic: PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it  (Read 9964 times)

SEKCobra

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it
« on: 07 Jun 2015, 14:59:39 »
Hey guys,
I really love how many options PDW gives me, but I am having a problem keeping me from doing anything useful:
Whenever there is one of the (rather short) POCSAG 2400 signals I am trying to decode, PDS writes "PDW v3.12 - POCSAG-2400" in the titlebar, but nothing shows up inside the window and it goes right back.
It happens twice, for each of the two "spikes" seen in this image:

Is it some sort of short(er) transmission without content or something? And how can I get it to log these?


Also making my life not a whole lot easier is the fact that pagers only do very little in my area, so I only get about 5 pages per hour.

Discriminator

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
Re: PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it
« Reply #1 on: 07 Jun 2015, 16:12:07 »
The preamble of a POCSAG transmission (1010101...) is the least critical part for PDW to decode. To decode using an SDR stick, you have to tweak the volume settings. This can be time consuming, especially in your case.


SEKCobra

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it
« Reply #2 on: 07 Jun 2015, 16:30:31 »
The preamble of a POCSAG transmission (1010101...) is the least critical part for PDW to decode. To decode using an SDR stick, you have to tweak the volume settings. This can be time consuming, especially in your case.
I was afraid it would have to do with the audio level. Is there some sorta measure to go by to maybe adjust it without waiting for a signal?

Discriminator

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
Re: PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it
« Reply #3 on: 07 Jun 2015, 16:53:13 »
Is there some sorta measure to go by to maybe adjust it without waiting for a signal?

The only thing I can think of is trying to align the system on a more busy frequency.

SEKCobra

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it
« Reply #4 on: 07 Jun 2015, 17:09:10 »
Yeah I tried that, but this is already the busiest I could find, most others are weaker & less frequently used, so it's hard to even find them in the first place. I guess I'll try going top to bottom on the audio scale in SDR# and see if anything but the preamble decodes at any level. Honestly I'm feeling less than confident, might look into buying a scanner and moding a discriminator tap in. Just sucks cause I can't use it via ethernet like the RTL-SDR.

Discriminator

  • Administrator
  • Top Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
Re: PDW notices POCSAG but doesn't log it
« Reply #5 on: 07 Jun 2015, 17:13:15 »
Just sucks cause I can't use it via ethernet like the RTL-SDR.

The RS232 interface on my site can be used with a serial to ethernet converter. Saves you a lot of soundcard tweaking as well  ;)